Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | 1gig Rollout getting faster

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

1gig Rollout getting faster
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 05-11-2020, 19:45   #46
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,435
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

I would be more inclined to go by the green bar

__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 05-11-2020, 20:13   #47
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Sorted.

Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 21:55   #48
Skie
a giant headend
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Liverpool
Posts: 1,072
Skie has reached the bronze age
Skie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze ageSkie has reached the bronze age
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
Sorted.
Noice.

Please share your workings out for the class
Skie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2020, 22:56   #49
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Skie View Post
Noice.

Please share your workings out for the class
Two ethernet feeds from the Hub 4 into a Mikrotek 4011 router. Lan aggregation enabled to bond eth1 and eth6 on hub together using "balance-rr". Using 10GBe out to my PC. Works with hub in both modem mode and router mode. I have it in modem mode with the Mikrotek doing the DHCP and NAT.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 01:23   #50
Rexz
cf.addict
 
Rexz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Age: 32
Services: VM 152mbit + TV + Phone
Posts: 118
Rexz is just really niceRexz is just really niceRexz is just really niceRexz is just really niceRexz is just really niceRexz is just really nice
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Nice, didn't know modem mode would work like that. That's very promising!
Rexz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 01:50   #51
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Screenshot 2020-11-06 at 00.30.59.png

895Mbps over first link and 316Mbps over second bonded together to 1212Mbps which is routed out over the SFP+ module to the host computer.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 13:31   #52
General Maximus
C/O Felix Legion
 
General Maximus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Lincoln
Services: phone + L TV + 350mbit BB + Sky+HD
Posts: 9,435
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
General Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronzeGeneral Maximus is cast in bronze
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
I have it in modem mode with the Mikrotek doing the DHCP and NAT.
The whole point of modem mode is that the switch and routing functionality are disabled and only port one is up which means you are limited to 1gbit and can definitely not use two ports for link aggregation.
__________________
Join the Mockingjay, join the fight
General Maximus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2020, 15:59   #53
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Both ports remain active maybe as a consequence of the bonding using the same mac address for each part of the interface. That said after a period of time it tends to use one more than the other for downloads, uploads are split equally over both links.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 10:49   #54
broadbandking
cf.mega poster
 
broadbandking's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: At My Desk
Services: Virgin Media V6 XL TV - 1Gb Broadband
Posts: 2,999
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
broadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze arraybroadbandking has a bronze array
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

https://www.speedtest.net/result/10378749949.png

Can't be arsed to buy new equipment to squeeze another 50-100Mb
__________________
My Broadband Ping
broadbandking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 19:11   #55
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by broadbandking View Post
https://www.speedtest.net/result/10378749949.png

Can't be arsed to buy new equipment to squeeze another 50-100Mb
And nor should you. Virgin should have supplied a modem with a 2.5G port in the first place.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 19:32   #56
BenMcr
Virgin Media Staff
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Manchester
Services: V6 x2, Maxit TV, Sky Sports and Sky Cinema. Gig1
Posts: 17,038
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
BenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny starsBenMcr has a pair of shiny stars
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
And nor should you. Virgin should have supplied a modem with a 2.5G port in the first place.
There weren't any DOCSIS 3.1 Hubs with those available when the Hub 4 was designed.
__________________
I work for Virgin Media but all views are my own.
BenMcr is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 21:20   #57
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1GB /50mb, TV V6x2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,608
roughbeast has reached the bronze age
roughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze age
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
Attachment 28660

895Mbps over first link and 316Mbps over second bonded together to 1212Mbps which is routed out over the SFP+ module to the host computer.

My GT-AX11000 has port aggregation and a 2.5Gb port. Could this work for me?
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1Gb /50Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH4 in modem mode with GT-AX11000
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2020, 21:53   #58
Rankrotten
Artist of Light and Shade
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Glasgow
Services: TiVo, Sky and XXXL Broadband
Posts: 208
Rankrotten is on a distinguished roadRankrotten is on a distinguished road
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by roughbeast View Post
My GT-AX11000 has port aggregation and a 2.5Gb port. Could this work for me?
Standard port aggregation (LACP) won't work as it requires support at both the modem end and the router end which the Hub 4.0 does not offer. Not sure what your kit supports but if it can be configured to balanced round-robin you might be lucky. Router OS and pfsense have options for this.
Rankrotten is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2020, 22:01   #59
roughbeast
cf.mega poster
 
roughbeast's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1GB /50mb, TV V6x2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4
Posts: 1,608
roughbeast has reached the bronze age
roughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze ageroughbeast has reached the bronze age
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
Standard port aggregation (LACP) won't work as it requires support at both the modem end and the router end which the Hub 4.0 does not offer. Not sure what your kit supports but if it can be configured to balanced round-robin you might be lucky. Router OS and pfsense have options for this.
Unfortunately, there seems to be no facility for setting up balance-rr. Looks like I would need a smart switch that can, between modem and router.
__________________
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Coventry Cab CV829
Services: 1Gb /50Mb, V6 box X2, Phone XL Talk unlimited and mobile x4. SH4 in modem mode with GT-AX11000
roughbeast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 09:54   #60
rtho782
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2016
Posts: 139
rtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about themrtho782 has a spectacular aura about them
Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster

Quote:
Originally Posted by Rankrotten View Post
And nor should you. Virgin should have supplied a modem with a 2.5G port in the first place.
Yeah the Hub 4.0 has to be the least "future proof" and hopefully shortest lived hub from virgin ever.
rtho782 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 18:34.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.