Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media TV Service

Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-11-2020, 18:22   #196
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,442
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Thanks, Robby, that was also important to me!
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-11-2020, 19:10   #197
Richardr
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: St Albans, UK
Services: V6, Full House, Braodband
Posts: 87
Richardr is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by fox35 View Post
Virgin Media IS Liberty Global. LG bought the Virgin Media company and brand back in 2013. They opted to continue to use the VM brand only in their UK market under licence from Bransons larger Virgin Group. All domestic PVRs including VMs 360/Horizon, Sky+/Q, Freeview recorders etc still use elements of TiVo/Rovi patented tech in their operating system.
That's the position today. At some point next year Liberty Global will only own half of the company in the UK - O2 owning the other half.
Richardr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-11-2020, 23:58   #198
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

So it's official (from VM staff on the VM Community forums) that 360 software is being trialled on V6 hardware.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...4485805/page/2
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 00:26   #199
OLD BOY
Just shield those at risk
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wokingham
Services: 2 V6 boxes; Maxit TV; Now TV, Amazon, Netflix, Starzplay, Apple TV; VM broadband and landline
Posts: 11,442
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
OLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze arrayOLD BOY has a bronze array
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
So it's official (from VM staff on the VM Community forums) that 360 software is being trialled on V6 hardware.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...4485805/page/2
Good find, Mythica, thank you!
OLD BOY is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 08:31   #200
heavyside
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 551
heavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to beholdheavyside is a splendid one to behold
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
So it's official (from VM staff on the VM Community forums) that 360 software is being trialled on V6 hardware.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...4485805/page/2
That is very good news IMO.
heavyside is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 10:10   #201
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,924
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
So it's official (from VM staff on the VM Community forums) that 360 software is being trialled on V6 hardware.

https://community.virginmedia.com/t5...4485805/page/2
... and, of course, the most important information in that post is that you can have multiple Horizon boxes with storage.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 11:28   #202
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
... and, of course, the most important information in that post is that you can have multiple Horizon boxes with storage.
I don't see that information anywhere? You can have multiple V6 boxes with Horizon software. Unless that's what you mean?.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 11:40   #203
1andrew1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 8,572
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal1andrew1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
I don't see that information anywhere? You can have multiple V6 boxes with Horizon software. Unless that's what you mean?.
From the VM Forum:
Quote:
I donít think Iím giving anything away now as itís been announced but, pending successful trials, from next year any existing customers with 2 x V6 boxes will be able to upgrade them to 360 over the air and keep the entire 2TB storage across both boxes.
It will just be a software update pushed over the network. So customers with two V6s can retain them both and their combined 2Tb storage; they won't be asked to send back one of their V6s.
1andrew1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 12:38   #204
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1andrew1 View Post
From the VM Forum:


It will just be a software update pushed over the network. So customers with two V6s can retain them both and their combined 2Tb storage; they won't be asked to send back one of their V6s.
Yeah that's what I was linking to, the official source. It might be a bit pedantic, but it doesn't say multiple Horizon boxes.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 14:06   #205
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,924
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mythica View Post
Yeah that's what I was linking to, the official source. It might be a bit pedantic, but it doesn't say multiple Horizon boxes.
I referred to a V6 with Horizon software as a Horizon box.
Iíve seen no proof that there is other than one hardware platform - the V6 box, which can run either TiVo or Horizon software.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 14:26   #206
Mythica
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 724
Mythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of QuadsMythica has a fine set of Quads
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
I referred to a V6 with Horizon software as a Horizon box.
Iíve seen no proof that there is other than one hardware platform - the V6 box, which can run either TiVo or Horizon software.
The 360 box? Otherwise why are they trialling Horizon software on the V6 box, if that's all the 360 box is.

So is the 360 box exactly the same as the V6 box but different software? If that's the case, why was the people on Ultimate oomph bundle offered a downgrade when the offer first came about.
Mythica is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 14:47   #207
spiderplant
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 8,001
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
spiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny starspiderplant has a nice shiny star
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by RobboEdin View Post
Iíve seen no proof that there is other than one hardware platform - the V6 box, which can run either TiVo or Horizon software.
There are 3 boxes:
Arris boxes: Can run either TiVo or Horizon software
Humax boxes (with or without a harddrive): Can only run Horizon software
spiderplant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 15:53   #208
cheekyangus
cf.mega poster
 
cheekyangus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 1,538
cheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant futurecheekyangus has a brilliant future
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
There are 3 boxes:
Arris boxes: Can run either TiVo or Horizon software
Humax boxes (with or without a harddrive): Can only run Horizon software
Thanks for that. Much appreciated spiderplant.
cheekyangus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 17-11-2020, 16:24   #209
RobboEdin
cf.mega poster
 
RobboEdin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 1,924
RobboEdin has reached the bronze age
RobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze ageRobboEdin has reached the bronze age
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Quote:
Originally Posted by spiderplant View Post
There are 3 boxes:
Arris boxes: Can run either TiVo or Horizon software
Humax boxes (with or without a harddrive): Can only run Horizon software
Thanks. Very clear.
RobboEdin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 21-11-2020, 18:51   #210
ozsat
cf.mega poster
 
ozsat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Area 31 (Oxford)
Services: 690/44Mpbs, TV (UHD/HDR/MRS), Freesat HD, Freeview HD, SkyQ UHD/HDR, BTtv UHD (+HDR), DAB+
Posts: 1,303
ozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond reputeozsat has a reputation beyond repute
Re: Virgin TV 360 users (Horizon)

Something I've just noticed is a lot of the air dates are wrong on Horizon.

Only Fools and Horses for the episode on now (Ser 6 Ep 1) says 8th Jan 1989 on TiVo - which is correct.

Horizon says the same episode is actually from 2002.

About half of the episodes of just this series are way out. I'm sure there are many more.
ozsat is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 9 (5 members and 4 guests)
gordon65, ScottishSteve, johnasimmons, jfman, PAULRYAN52
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 15:19.


Server: curium.zmnt.uk
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions Inc.