You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.
Clear the Page File at System Shutdown
Your pagefile basically caches all of the stuff that you have run recently. If you've been running some things that you don't want in that cached copy then you'll want to clear that pagefile.
The other big use for this is something sometimes referred to as "defragging" your pagefile. By deleting all of the old contents when you restart windows all of your pagefile will be recreated. If you're like most of us around here and very rarely reboot then turning this on will probably help your performance out a bit. This will make your shutdown process take longer since it is often times over 1Gb of data.