Quote:
Originally Posted by Wicked_and_Crazy
True, whistle or no whistle, a bad tackle can still be carded
cant it?
|
Yeah (in fact, you can be 'sent off' after the final whistle has been blown). However, in this case, you'd have to argue the the Ghanaian player showed intent to injure the Italian - in my opinion, there was no intent; it was just that he was crap at tackling.
As I said, as the last man,
technically, he should have been sent off but, again technically, there was no infringement of the rules as play had stopped
---------- Post added at 23:16 ---------- Previous post was at 23:14 ----------
Quote:
Originally Posted by danielf
Well, I was wondering about this as well. So apparently, there are rules which apply during play, and rule that apply when play is stopped. You can get a card for disagreeing with the ref, taking your shirt off, throwing the ball away, hitting/kicking an opponent when play is stopped, but not for a tackle? Seems a bit strange to me...
|
It is strange, no question about it. However, if play has stopped, there is no foul - again, IMO, there was no particular intent, it was just a poor tackle...