Quote:
Originally Posted by Nugget
Depends if the player deserved it
As I understand it, play had technically stopped, so no infringement of the rules has taken place. In this instance, while it was a bad tackle, there was nothing the ref could do about it - the Ghanaian didn't necessarily know that the linesman had his flag raised. Doesn't excuse the tackle, but them's the breaks 
|
Well, I was wondering about this as well. So apparently, there are rules which apply during play, and rule that apply when play is stopped. You can get a card for disagreeing with the ref, taking your shirt off, throwing the ball away, hitting/kicking an opponent when play is stopped, but not for a tackle? Seems a bit strange to me...