Quote:
Originally Posted by gunner45
The VM connect app cannot be involved in this process as it is never installed by most users. What happens is that VM keeps a cloud‑side configuration profile in its provisioning database for every customer including the Wi-Fi profile, and this profile gets updated if you change Wi‑Fi settings (and the VM Connect gets updated (if used)). When a new hub is installed, it initially has its factory Wi-Fi configuration. During the provisioning process, VM's management system can determine whether a previous customer Wi-Fi profile is associated with the service and, if one exists, those settings are downloaded to the new hub and overwrites its factory SSID/password. If no previous profile exists, the hub retains its factory settings. This is why a hub swap for an existing customer will broadcast the old SSID, your devices reconnect automatically and the admin password remains the same - but for new customers the hub retains its default factory Wi-Fi name and password printed on its sticker.
|
Roger, that’s how I thought it had to work. The connect app itself, does virtually nothing that can't be done from the hub’s web interface other than possibly the oft mentioned feature on the (now defunct and never to return) VM Community forum regarding speed checks and allowing you to (eventually, after jumping through many hoops) order a pod or two.