|
Re: New hub5
The VM connect app cannot be involved in this process as it is never installed by most users. What happens is that VM keeps a cloud‑side configuration profile in its provisioning database for every customer including the Wi-Fi profile, and this profile gets updated if you change Wi‑Fi settings (and the VM Connect gets updated (if used)). When a new hub is installed, it initially has its factory Wi-Fi configuration. During the provisioning process, VM's management system can determine whether a previous customer Wi-Fi profile is associated with the service and, if one exists, those settings are downloaded to the new hub and overwrites its factory SSID/password. If no previous profile exists, the hub retains its factory settings. This is why a hub swap for an existing customer will broadcast the old SSID, your devices reconnect automatically and the admin password remains the same - but for new customers the hub retains its default factory Wi-Fi name and password printed on its sticker.
__________________
I'm always right... except when I'm wrong
|