Quote:
Originally Posted by Arthurgray50@blu
The referee was disgrace, the linesman flagged for the handleball, but the ref, overuled and allowed play to go on WITHOUT telling the keeper.
|
No he didn't. The linesman did not flag until the ball was in the back of the net.
It's the old adage play to the whistle. Spurs only have themselves to blame.
The referee could have made himself clearer and yes it was an error not to penalise the handball, but the fact remains he did not signal or blow his whistle for a free kick. Gomez assumed it was a free kick and we all know where assumption gets you.
If Spurs passed the ball as well as they pass the buck maybe the result would have been different.