To erase the history, go to Tools-> Internet Options-> content.
Click onto autocomplete, click clear forms.
If you are using Google Toolbar this won't remove your past searches from the toolbar.
Click on the Google logo next to the Google Toolbar's search box, then choose "Clear Search History" from the drop-down box that appears.
hth
MB