![]() |
New hub5
Virgin sent me an email saying I could upgrade my hub3 free.
The hub arrived yesterday with different serial number and password. After following the instructions I tried to login with the new numbers but it refused to recognise them and rather confusing it says I am online with the original serial number and password. My old hub is disconnected. I didn’t have to change any of my WiFi devices to the new hub. When I look at the vm connect app, it says devices online, hub online, pod online. Yet when I click the link it says “ oops something went wrong”. It’s showing as if my hub and pods are off-line. When I go to the My Virgin Media app, it says I have no broadband issues. Yet, if I go to where it says my pods, it comes back with you haven’t got any. So it seems everything is working fine, but I am confused how it works with the old serial number and password because on the base of the new hub it has a different number and password. Not sure if I did something or if it’s the kit, anyone got any ideas thanks Rod |
Re: New hub5
This is the normal process designed to seamlessly enable a replacement hub to connect devices without changing SSIDs. However VM's backend provisioning/account systems can take 2-3 days to get updated, so in the meantime you get told the hub and pods are offline even though they are working.
|
Re: New hub5
It's a setting in the VMConnect app called "Restore old hub details". You've got it enabled.
|
Re: New hub5
Quote:
If the former, if a user doesn’t use the app, is that setting enabled by default on the router? |
Re: New hub5
Quote:
|
Re: New hub5
You can access the hub5 settings using a browser and the IP address. Eg mine is 192.168.0.1(local address).
|
Re: New hub5
Quote:
|
Re: New hub5
Thanks everyone. Much appreciated.
|
Re: New hub5
Quote:
|
Re: New hub5
Quote:
|
Re: New hub5
The VM connect app cannot be involved in this process as it is never installed by most users. What happens is that VM keeps a cloud‑side configuration profile in its provisioning database for every customer including the Wi-Fi profile, and this profile gets updated if you change Wi‑Fi settings (and the VM Connect gets updated (if used)). When a new hub is installed, it initially has its factory Wi-Fi configuration. During the provisioning process, VM's management system can determine whether a previous customer Wi-Fi profile is associated with the service and, if one exists, those settings are downloaded to the new hub and overwrites its factory SSID/password. If no previous profile exists, the hub retains its factory settings. This is why a hub swap for an existing customer will broadcast the old SSID, your devices reconnect automatically and the admin password remains the same - but for new customers the hub retains its default factory Wi-Fi name and password printed on its sticker.
|
Re: New hub5
Quote:
|
| All times are GMT. The time now is 03:13. |
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2026, vBulletin Solutions Inc.
All Posts and Content are © Cable Forum