Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Virgin Media Internet Service (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   Superhub : WiFi what speeds should I expect? (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33707556)

The Yank 02-04-2019 11:03

WiFi what speeds should I expect?

Hi,
I'm not technical so be gentle with me please LOL

My incoming speed is meant to be 360MBPS (I usually get 384).
I hadn't noticed how slow my WiFi is till I had several complaints from visitors yesterday. I have been doing constant checks since.
Sitting at my desk just 2 feet from the SH3 I get the following:
on mobile (android) I get between 20 and 30 MBPS
on my laptop (wireless) I get between 30 and 50 MBPS
****note when I paid for 200MBPS I usually got about 78MBPS WiFi***

upstairs in my bedroom using the Powerline WiFi extender supplied by VM I only get between 2 and 3 MBPS which is ludicrous.

I tried ringing VM but keep speaking to people whose accents I cannot understand (not their fault). I think on one occasion I was told they can't promise a WiFi speed which I understand but I cannot believe mine is so low.
another person suggested the powerline adapter was causing the issue and had me reset both ends. That had no effect.
I haven't gone back to them yet but thought I would see what you think on this forum. Could it be as simple as a faulty Hub?

Thanks in advance.

Hugh 02-04-2019 12:51

Re: WiFi what speeds should I expect?

Have you tried a speed test with something that has a wired connection to the Hub?

That will let you know what speed is coming into the premise.

The Yank 02-04-2019 13:03

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hugh (Post 35989637)
Have you tried a speed test with something that has a wired connection to the Hub?

That will let you know what speed is coming into the premise.

yes - as stated above my pc is ethernet connected and I regularly get about 384mbps using speedtest.net's desktop app.