Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Virgin Media Internet Service (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   1000M : 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode. (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33710715)

mrmistoffelees 05-01-2022 10:17

1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Are there any known issues with Hub 4 operating in modem only mode?

Family member had M350 which was always rock solid around the 380 DL speed and upgraded to 1Gb service, speeds now are fluctuating wildly between 300-500mbps. The only thing that's changed apart from level of service is the SH3 was replaced for a SH4. Router (AX6100) etc all remains the same.

Swapped cables etc. but no joy

Thanks in advance.

EDIT: Here's the downstream (i have no idea how to interpret this....)

3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
25 331000000 3.3 37.6 QAM256 25
1 139000000 6.4 39 QAM256 1
2 147000000 6.7 38.6 QAM256 2
3 155000000 7.5 39 QAM256 3
4 163000000 7.2 39 QAM256 4
5 171000000 7 39 QAM256 5
6 179000000 7 38.6 QAM256 6
7 187000000 6.8 39 QAM256 7
8 195000000 6.6 39 QAM256 8
9 203000000 6.6 39 QAM256 9
10 211000000 6.7 38.6 QAM256 10
11 219000000 6.7 39 QAM256 11
12 227000000 6.6 39 QAM256 12
13 235000000 6.5 38.6 QAM256 13
14 243000000 6.5 39 QAM256 14
15 251000000 6.3 39 QAM256 15
16 259000000 6.2 38.6 QAM256 16
17 267000000 5.9 38.6 QAM256 17
18 275000000 5.5 39 QAM256 18
19 283000000 5 38.6 QAM256 19
20 291000000 4.5 38.6 QAM256 20
21 299000000 4.4 38.6 QAM256 21
22 307000000 5 39 QAM256 22
23 315000000 5 39 QAM256 23
24 323000000 4.4 38.6 QAM256 24
26 339000000 0.1 36.6 QAM256 26
27 347000000 1.5 37.4 QAM256 27
28 355000000 3.9 37.6 QAM256 28
29 363000000 4.7 38.6 QAM256 29
30 371000000 4.9 39 QAM256 30
31 379000000 5.1 38.6 QAM256 31


3.0 Downstream channels
Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
25 Locked 37.636276 0 0
1 Locked 38.983261 0 0
2 Locked 38.605377 0 0
3 Locked 38.983261 0 0
4 Locked 38.983261 0 0
5 Locked 38.983261 0 0
6 Locked 38.605377 0 0
7 Locked 38.983261 0 0
8 Locked 38.983261 0 0
9 Locked 38.983261 0 0
10 Locked 38.605377 0 0
11 Locked 38.983261 0 0
12 Locked 38.983261 0 0
13 Locked 38.605377 0 0
14 Locked 38.983261 0 0
15 Locked 38.983261 0 0
16 Locked 38.605377 0 0
17 Locked 38.605377 0 0
18 Locked 38.983261 0 0
19 Locked 38.605377 0 0
20 Locked 38.605377 0 0
21 Locked 38.605377 0 0
22 Locked 38.983261 0 0
23 Locked 38.983261 0 0
24 Locked 38.605377 0 0
26 Locked 36.609653 0 0
27 Locked 37.355988 0 0
28 Locked 37.636276 0 0
29 Locked 38.605377 0 0
30 Locked 38.983261 0 0
31 Locked 38.605377 0 0


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
39 96 4K 1880 QAM4096 424


3.1 Downstream channels
Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
39 Locked 40 5 858803578 0

General Maximus 06-01-2022 09:49

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Those power levels are fine. From what I can find the AX92u has a wan to lan throughput of around 940mbits which is the same as my router.

I too have upgraded to 1gbit and I also was given a shub 4. I haven't had a problem with speed tests because the best server to run speed tests on is also geographically the closest to me and so coincidentally was first on the list to use.

Which brings me to my first point. How are you doing your speed tests. I have always used speedtest.net for mine and whilst I have always found it very reliable for all previous tiers of 500mbits and below I have found through a lot of experimenting that there are only two servers for me which can provided consistent results for 1gbit so you might want to try a few different servers.

If that doesn't bear fruit the next best solution to immediately ascertain what the problem is is to put the shub back in router mode and use the built in samknows speed test to do a test. It runs the test straight to router and if you get full speed you know the problem is on the lan side and if you still only get ~500mbits then it is nothing to do with you and a problem VM's side. I hate ro recommend putting the shub back in router mode because I have always had all my shubs in modem mode but on this occasion it is quickest and easiest way to drastically reduce the list of things to troubleshoot.

When in router mode all you need to do is open your web browser and type in

samknows.com/realspeed

mrmistoffelees 06-01-2022 13:06

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
General, thanks for your comments.

To answer your q's

1. I am indeed using speedtest.net, it's built into the A92u interface
2. I've put the CM back into router mode & used the samknows tool i can see the speeds getting to the router are expected but with two laptops freshly rebuilt (one mac & one win) both connected via ethernet i'm seeing the same issue.

General Maximus 06-01-2022 23:03

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
there in lies the problem. VM are giving you full speed to the shub and it is either the cables, switches or nics after that that are causing your issues. It is a shame you haven't got a pc you can run a wired test on. Laptops are always flaky performance wise due to resource and power management and either the nics are the bottleneck in terms of straight forward throughput (e.g. can only handle 400mbits) or the cpu (which the nic relies on to process data) can't keep up with that speed due to resource sharing and thus the cpu or ram are a bottleneck for network performance.

You say they are rebuilt but if they are branded laptops it might be worth googling them to see if you can find any reviews or articles where people have commented on what kind of throughput you can expect. I'll be honest and say if I bought a laptop, unless it was £2000 with an ssd and top notch everything, I wouldn't expect to be able to download over 100MB/sec.

mrmistoffelees 07-01-2022 18:52

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Borrowed & Had both machines on wired and wireless at my work both near as dammit pulling 1gb over their respective connections.

It’s not the machines, it’s not the AX92u I’ve tried wan port aggregation and I’m still seeing poor performance, it’s something on the hub

bigsinky 07-01-2022 19:10

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees (Post 36108446)
Borrowed & Had both machines on wired and wireless at my work both near as dammit pulling 1gb over their respective connections.

Itís not the machines, itís not the AX92u Iíve tried wan port aggregation and Iím still seeing poor performance, itís something on the hub

Yep itís a piece of crap.

General Maximus 07-01-2022 19:28

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by mrmistoffelees (Post 36108446)
Borrowed & Had both machines on wired and wireless at my work both near as dammit pulling 1gb over their respective connections.

Itís not the machines

If I was in your situation my next step would be to put the shub in router mode and directly connect the laptops to the shub and run the speed test again. If you get full speed you know it isn't the shub which is the issue and it is the Asus router or something else. If you still have a problem then it is a factory reset and fingers crossed and when that doesn't work it is ringing up tech support and trying to wangle another shub out of them. The problem is that even if you get through to second line they'll get you to run the samknows speed test and when that comes back at full speed they'll say the shub isn't at fault.

mrmistoffelees 07-01-2022 19:45

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Put it into router mode, connected the same devices via Ethernet to the shub (one at a time) same result.

Sam knows shows expected speeds to the hub but again only 300-500 over Ethernet to endpoints.

Factory reset the hub tried again, same thing

General Maximus 07-01-2022 20:32

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Imho the next step would be to try a different hub but trying to persuade tech support to give you a new one when they can prove you are getting full speed is going to be a big ask. Have you got a friend or neighbour you could pop into for 5 mins at some point and try it on their connection?

roughbeast 08-01-2022 16:19

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
I have read the conversation above and agree that General's assessment and steps are sound.

One thing occurs to me though. Last time I could get no more than 300-500Mb on my 1Gbs connection, with Hub 4 in modem-only mode, the problem was that I had my AX11000 QoS enabled. The effect of this was to ensure that none of my devices could get more than approximately 500Mb so that no device, game system etc could hog the bandwidth. QoS is unnecessary with 1Gb connection, because it is really only designed for those with limited bandwidth to share out. If you have enabled QoS or it is enabled by default, that could be your problem.

danbayliss 08-01-2022 21:13

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
I have found the SamKnows speedtest maxes out the CPU on my old laptop but is fine on my desktop. Have you tried looking at the CPU usage in task manager and shutting all running software down to see if it improves the results?

ozsat 09-01-2022 07:45

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Enabling QoS on my Netgear always killed downloads speeds.
Quote:

Originally Posted by roughbeast (Post 36108543)
I have read the conversation above and agree that General's assessment and steps are sound.

One thing occurs to me though. Last time I could get no more than 300-500Mb on my 1Gbs connection, with Hub 4 in modem-only mode, the problem was that I had my AX11000 QoS enabled. The effect of this was to ensure that none of my devices could get more than approximately 500Mb so that no device, game system etc could hog the bandwidth. QoS is unnecessary with 1Gb connection, because it is really only designed for those with limited bandwidth to share out. If you have enabled QoS or it is enabled by default, that could be your problem.


j0s0r 10-01-2022 10:39

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
I was going to post in the other 1 gig forum post, I have the same issue, using the hub 4 and my unifi gear I get terrible download speed, speedtest has the download speed at 537 Mbps.

Put the Hub4 back to router mode and use the samknows still get terrible speed 432 Mbps that is directly connected from the PC to the hub with a new cable.

General Maximus 10-01-2022 11:12

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Your issue is different to the ops because he is getting full speed to the hub. You aren't are your issue is with VM.

spiderplant 10-01-2022 12:27

Re: 1gb with Hub 4 modem only mode.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by j0s0r (Post 36108688)
I was going to post in the other 1 gig forum post, I have the same issue, using the hub 4 and my unifi gear I get terrible download speed, speedtest has the download speed at 537 Mbps.

Put the Hub4 back to router mode and use the samknows still get terrible speed 432 Mbps that is directly connected from the PC to the hub with a new cable.

Do you still have the problem? A fix for slow speeds on some Hub4s was deployed on Saturday.

If you do still have the problem, try a factory reset on the Hub.
https://www.virginmedia.com/help/vir...reset-your-hub


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 20:01.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.