Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Other ISPs Discussion (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=63)
-   -   Hyperoptic (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33710512)

a01020304 31-10-2021 22:14

Hyperoptic
 
Virgin install coaxial cable into home and then connect to modem hub but what do Hyperoptic do?
Do they also use coaxial into home or do they use cat5/6 direct to the modem?

pip08456 01-11-2021 08:32

Re: Hyperoptic
 
Fibre to ONT then ethernet to router.

Paul 01-11-2021 15:04

Re: Hyperoptic
 
ONT ?

pip08456 01-11-2021 16:16

Re: Hyperoptic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul (Post 36099620)
ONT ?

Optical Network Terminal ( basically equivalent to a modem).

Chris 01-11-2021 16:38

Re: Hyperoptic
 
Sounds similar to Openreach - my in laws got a wall box added to the hall when they ordered fibre. That box has an Ethernet connection to their TalkTalk home hub.

pip08456 01-11-2021 17:08

Re: Hyperoptic
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris (Post 36099637)
Sounds similar to Openreach - my in laws got a wall box added to the hall when they ordered fibre. That box has an Ethernet connection to their TalkTalk home hub.

Yes, all the altnets use the same system for FTTP installs. Only VM run coax.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 21:41.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.