Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Virgin Media Internet Service (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   1000M : 1gig Rollout getting faster (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33709413)

Tricky Trevor 07-10-2020 11:28

1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Just reading about the 1gig roll out speeding up.

https://www.express.co.uk/life-style...gig1-speeds-UK

roughbeast 07-10-2020 13:08

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Tricky Trevor (Post 36052943)
Just reading about the 1gig roll out speeding up.

https://www.express.co.uk/life-style...gig1-speeds-UK

Because it is the Express I approached your link with caution. This is the paper that predicts killer snow, cold and heat every single year. :-) However, this looks kosher.

Reports earlier in the year suggested an accelerated roll out. https://advanced-television.com/2020...abit-roll-out/

So, we can look forward to universal 1GB coverage pretty soon. I wonder if a switch to DOCSIS 3.1 on the upstream is in the pipeline. Realistically, to appear to be moving forward, VM needs to be able to deliver at least a 10:1 service next.

BenMcr 07-10-2020 13:57

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Thought it's worth posting the source of the Express story which is the Virgin Media / O2 site here

https://www.nationalconnectivitycham...e-new-pledges/

Quote:

Additionally, the companies will have added 1m premises to the 15 million homes and countless businesses that are already gigabit ready for broadband, within 12 months of the merger closing. The merged company also has the ambition to accelerate investments and connect a further 7m homes to gigabit broadband in the coming years, well ahead of the Government’s current broadband ambition.

Tricky Trevor 07-10-2020 18:45

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Thanks Ben. The 'pledges' video was a good one.

alanbjames 08-10-2020 23:10

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Has Virgin created a site where u can look if ur area has been updated as they have in the past with rollouts.

BenMcr 08-10-2020 23:52

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Yes. Here

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/bro...abit-broadband

alanbjames 09-10-2020 00:10

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Apparently 500mb which im on is fastest here at the moment and it didnt make that very clear on the page either.

roughbeast 09-10-2020 19:10

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by alanbjames (Post 36053115)
Apparently 500mb which im on is fastest here at the moment and it didnt make that very clear on the page either.

500Mb has been rolled out pretty well everywhere, so unless you have 1Gb in your area already, then 500Mb is the fastest.

Skie 09-10-2020 23:49

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BenMcr (Post 36053112)

Except that page just takes you to another page that says you can get VM services, but not what. You then need to click on another link to go to the bundles which for me says up top in a green box that I can get gig1 but none of the bundles include it.

Eventually figured out how to get a 1 gig tier, but it takes clicking the right 'choose this bundle' option and then finding the customise bundle option. The entire process for a new customer to order anything is utter dross compared to the Sky and BT new customer flow.

VM's marketing team needs to calm down, they change the bundle selection and purchase flow so frequently the damned thing barely makes any sense these days. In fact the bundle selection carousel is b0rked in Firefox.

horrorwood 13-10-2020 17:08

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Adding 1gbit to the ultimate oomph makes it go from 89 to 111.

I think I'll pass if it ever rolls out here.

baz 14-10-2020 11:03

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
i don't need really fast speeds as I don't download or play games i'm only on 50mbps and that's only reaching 43.38/upload 5.70 I check my speed daily because my pc seemed to be slower than it was and just renewed my contract so if they cant even get my speed right how on earth are the going to achieve 1gbit

roughbeast 15-10-2020 14:02

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by baz (Post 36053639)
i don't need really fast speeds as I don't download or play games i'm only on 50mbps and that's only reaching 43.38/upload 5.70 I check my speed daily because my pc seemed to be slower than it was and just renewed my contract so if they cant even get my speed right how on earth are the going to achieve 1gbit

Your modem will be configured for more than 50Mb to allow for overheads. Eliminate factors giving you a low reading, e.g. Is this over wifi or ethernet cable? WiFi often gives a less than optimum speed. Are you certain nothing else in the house was using bandwidth, like a phone or TV? If you consistently get less than 50Mb after checking for local causes, call CS. You should get over 50Mb

rtho782 16-10-2020 08:21

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Hm, 1 gig "getting faster" but we've had no particular timescale or schedule on it so far so it's kind of meaningless. I have no idea when VM will do it in my area, this press release perhaps means it will be quicker than it was, but I don't know how much quicker (1 year? 1 hour?) and I don't have a frame of reference in the first place anyway so it's all meaningless.

General Maximus 16-10-2020 10:30

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Despite the blab all the rollouts over the last 12 years or so have taken 2 years from starts to finish. Certain areas ay be brought forward but their are inevitably unexpected delays which in turn delay other areas. It is swings and roundabouts. I have always fallen in the middle so when a new tier or upgrade is announced around October and they say "we aim to get 25% done by Christmas" which sounds great, I know it is always going to be about a year before I get it.

baz 16-10-2020 10:56

Re: 1gig Rollout getting faster
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by roughbeast (Post 36053838)
Your modem will be configured for more than 50Mb to allow for overheads. Eliminate factors giving you a low reading, e.g. Is this over wifi or ethernet cable? WiFi often gives a less than optimum speed. Are you certain nothing else in the house was using bandwidth, like a phone or TV? If you consistently get less than 50Mb after checking for local causes, call CS. You should get over 50Mb

just checked speed 45.14 6.30 upload i'm using ethernet cable nothing else turned on when I complained about the price they wanted to charge me for new contract when they rang me I said I would go elsewere they then put me through to another dept they reduced the price and locked it for 18 months I have been on 50mb in the past then a free upgrade to 70mb and yet another to 100mb over a period of time, so now I have landed up back on 50mb??? you just cant win with VM :mad:


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 06:39.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, vBulletin Solutions Inc.