Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Virgin Media Internet Service (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=12)
-   -   200M : Hitron CGNV4 - Static IP and Modem Mode (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33702977)

sebyoung 19-05-2016 18:00

Hitron CGNV4 - Static IP and Modem Mode

After a disastrous 3 months on the business 50Mb service a while back, we've just joined Virgin Media Business again on their new 200Mb service. We have 1 static IP (needed) and the Hitron CGNV4 router. The engineer said modem mode isn't possible with a static IP, though it's coming soon (heard that before!).

I've done a bit of searching around and I can't find anything to the contrary. Does anyone know of a way around this at present?

vm_tech 19-05-2016 18:04

Re: Hitron CGNV4 - Static IP and Modem Mode

I'm a business engineer for VM. Modem mode is only available with dynamic IP

sebyoung 19-05-2016 18:09

Thank you. Looks like we'll be leaving Virgin Media again. :mad:

ccarmock 20-05-2016 01:50

I also heard it was coming soon, as will be the option to have a static routed subnet, which was available with the older business Sh1 based device, but they don't offer that now.

Originally I was told by June. How they are saying in Q3

sebyoung 20-05-2016 02:40

Thanks for the information. For now I might ask to be put back on dynamic, which is really no good, but I hear that the IP is very sticky. Is this true?

Ignitionnet 20-05-2016 08:38

Yes. Doesn't change unless certain network maintenance work is done.

sebyoung 20-05-2016 08:44

Thanks. Will give it a try on "dynamic" and see how we go, because the actual connection is fantastic.

Sephiroth 22-05-2016 15:21

Quote:

Originally Posted by vm_tech (Post 35838510)
I'm a business engineer for VM. Modem mode is only available with dynamic IP