Cable Forum

Cable Forum (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/index.php)
-   Networking (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/forumdisplay.php?f=87)
-   -   Home WiFi woes (https://www.cableforum.uk/board/showthread.php?t=33710415)

Carth 01-10-2021 20:02

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Chris (Post 36095424)
<snip> . . . drilling through my daughtersí bedroom floor to get an Ethernet cable into the lounge.

Your daughter has a floor in her bedroom ???

My daughter did once, she's since converted it into a combination wardrobe/washbasket/CD/DVD storage area :D

Hugh 01-10-2021 21:29

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
The phrase for that storage solution is "floordrobe"Ö:D

Chris 01-10-2021 22:25

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Why do you think I’m desperately trying to avoid doing any sort of DIY in their bedroom …

Paul 02-10-2021 00:47

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
I have a main WiFi router, and a number of repeaters dotted about, on several SSIDs.

(and a couple of powerline adaptors as well), its all been built up over the years.

I've decided its time to upgrade to a Mesh system, I'm looking at the TP Link Deco Systems.

Chris 02-10-2021 15:44

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
2 Attachment(s)
I ordered these last night and they arrived this afternoon. So far, so good - on the TV over Ethernet I am getting 100% of the speed Iím seeing on 5GHz WiFi on the iPad, which is a win as previously the TV was on 2.4GHz and getting little more than 10% of what was available. I canít report absolute speeds at present as the home network is being quite heavily used, as is our local 4g cell. I should be able to identify the best throughout I can get from powerline in my home first thing tomorrow morning (or maybe late tonight).

It does work, after a fashion, on the socket ring in the dining room which is on a secondary consumer board but itís weak. Iím getting much better results from putting the second adapter in the kitchen, which is on our main consumer board. End result, the iMac in the dining room is connecting via 2.4GHz to the plug through the wall, less than a metre away, and getting a good, stable connection.

So thanks everyone for your help :tu:

https://www.cableforum.uk/board/atta...1&d=1633185811

https://www.cableforum.uk/board/atta...1&d=1633185811

Hom3r 02-10-2021 20:18

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
The powerline adaptors should be plugged directly in to the socket and not an extension lead

Chris 02-10-2021 20:53

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hom3r (Post 36095574)
The powerline adaptors should be plugged directly in to the socket and not an extension lead

Thereís no socket nearby Ö. Thatís why itís on an extension lead. Itís a long one. ;)

Itís working fine, and at present the TP-Link app says the data rate between the plugs is around 30Mbps which is way more than adequate, given that the only thing we need of it is the hardwire to the TV. The 5GHz signal direct from the router is fine for sitting here with the iPad.

nffc 02-10-2021 22:22

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Hom3r (Post 36095574)
The powerline adaptors should be plugged directly in to the socket and not an extension lead

They do work, I have done that before, though they work better directly plugged in.

Paul 02-10-2021 22:46

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Depends on how old (or cheap) the extension lead is.
AFAIK, the issue is the protection systems in them (like anti surge).

(Home-made extensions dont have an issue, nor should ones without extra protection circuits).

However, its generally better to plug directly into the socket, and use an ethernet extension, rather than a power line extension.

Chris 02-10-2021 22:54

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Issue is, we have no unused sockets in the living room. In common with many houses that didn’t have electricity when first built, they didn’t put enough sockets in when it was eventually installed. It really is fine though, I’ve achieved what I wanted to with the installation (and the extension lead is surge protected fwiw)

Mad Max 30-04-2022 15:13

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Hi, if anyone can help with this I'd be grateful, we lost all network connection last week and I had to reboot our superhub, since doing that I had this message come up on our Iphones, "Hotspot login cannot open the page because it could not establish a secure connection to the server"
At first, I could not connect to wifi using VM8807911-2G_2GEXT or the 5GEXT, but I could connect using VM8807911 and I'm using this connection at the moment.
I tried to connect to one of the other connections but keep getting the same message as posted above, any ideas?

Thx

Paul 30-04-2022 18:43

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
I dont know about that, but since my previous post Ive switched to 3 x TP-Link Deco M5's and my wifi has been fine in all rooms.

Jaymoss 30-04-2022 20:42

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Paul (Post 36120653)
I dont know about that, but since my previous post Ive switched to 3 x TP-Link Deco M5's and my wifi has been fine in all rooms.

i got the M4s but want wifi 6 for my Meta Quest 2 so might sell them and buy a AX kit

General Maximus 01-05-2022 00:38

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mad Max (Post 36120633)
"Hotspot login cannot open the page because it could not establish a secure connection to the server"
At first, I could not connect to wifi using VM8807911-2G_2GEXT or the 5GEXT

sounds to me like it is trying to login to a wifi hotspot which your hub has enabled by default and the iphones arent happy with a presumably self-issued security certificate the hub is providing as the server. It is a pain in the ass for Joe Public outside of your house however you are connected to and using the
in-home wifi for your account and that seems to be working fine. The iphones will remember the ssid's and passwords and reconnect when the connection becomes available again.

Paul 01-05-2022 03:23

Re: Home WiFi woes
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Jaymoss (Post 36120662)
i got the M4s but want wifi 6 for my Meta Quest 2 so might sell them and buy a AX kit

Wi‑Fi 6 or 6E ?

WF6 is about 40% faster than Wi‑Fi 5 (max) - not sure if its really worth it.

Now Wi-Fi 7, that will be nice when it comes along - 40Gbits/s max.


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 10:07.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions Inc.