PDA

View Full Version : No E-mail access (MS Outlook) since 30 Dec

RHS
05-01-2004, 20:21
Hi all,

I can see there are a number of people with e-mail problems here. Mine's been fine using Outlook until 30 December 2003. Since then I've only been able to access web mail through http://webmail.ntlworld.com/ . Other net access seams fine.

I've tried removing my account and then re-adding it in Outlook with all the details unchanged (pop.ntlworld.com; smtp.ntlworld.com; account name; password (as used in web mail); secure unchecked; authentication unchecked etc). I've even tried Outlook Express. The high number of problems reported by others suggests at NTL problem to me, and I am sure no one has fiddled with my PC, but I'm no expert.

Any ideas? Why is the problem not reported on "Service status" at http://www.ntl-isp.ntl.com/lookup/default.asp ? I really want to avoid sitting in an "customer service" 'phone queue for an hour and then to be told to call a premium rate number by someone as ignorant as me for and fault within the NTL network. May be time will magically fix it by the end of the week...

Thanks, RightHandSide

John Doe
05-01-2004, 22:29
Why is the problem not reported on "Service status" at http://www.ntl-isp.ntl.com/lookup/default.asp?

Because the fault is only effecting you.

I really want to avoid sitting in an "customer service" 'phone queue for an hour and then to be told to call a premium rate number by someone as ignorant as me for and fault within the NTL network.

Not that ignorant. Why would you call customer services for a technical fault? and you can get through to technical support from the FREE customer services number without having to speak to anyone. And the technical support number is lo-call 3p week-daytime, 2p week-eve, 1 weekend. I rang up yesterday got through within 3 minutes.

/rant

Lets try finding where the problem lies before giving up...

Do you have a firewall? Try turning it off.