View Full Version : Social Stereotyping

downquark1
01-11-2003, 20:53
http://news.bbc.co.uk/1/hi/sci/tech/3230565.stm
Your opinions, who's to blame?

I blame the americans, fat yankees :D

Bex
01-11-2003, 21:27
i would have guessed the second to last lass on the right......

it's true though there is stereotyping all the time...when i tell people i am a philosophy graduate they normally either say "oh intelligent" or give me a wide berth because they think i am gonna try and argue with them

Paul K
01-11-2003, 21:33
i would have guessed the second to last lass on the right......

it's true though there is stereotyping all the time...when i tell people i am a philosophy graduate they normally either say "oh intelligent" or give me a wide berth because they think i am gonna try and argue with them
Argue? You? :rofl:
I guessed that one too???? Strange :confused:

Bex
01-11-2003, 21:37
Argue? You? :rofl:
I guessed that one too???? Strange :confused:

:rofl: i don't argue that much

Chris
01-11-2003, 21:41
Stereotypes persist because they have in the past contained enough of a measure of truth to gain popular acceptance. But they are 'stereotypes' because they are not universally true, and in some cases may no longer be true at all.

homealone
01-11-2003, 22:01
Stereotypes persist because they have in the past contained enough of a measure of truth to gain popular acceptance. But they are 'stereotypes' because they are not universally true, and in some cases may no longer be true at all.

yes - in a way a stereotype 'takes an average' of the group it describes - DQ1's example of "fat Americans" was an amusing example.;)

- and of course that 'average' is constantly updating in the real world - but, unfortunately, not in the perception of those who use stereotypes to form their views.

- better to 'take as you find' & keep moving on, I feel:)

aliferste
02-11-2003, 11:19