PDA

View Full Version : Spray painting

Nidge
03-10-2005, 14:48
I'm thinking of spray painting an old car just to see how I get on with spraying, I've got a compressor and a spray gun and al lthe tools I just need to know how to fill the holes and mix the paint, is there anywhere on the web that will give me some info on how to spray paint?

marky
03-10-2005, 14:58
A quick google found this http://www.geocities.com/captkenn/paint.html;)

And this http://www.abac.co.uk/Spraying/ is much better full instructions :D

03-10-2005, 15:28
hi nidge..
I've been spraying on and off for about 15 years..and the painting is pretty much the easiest part of the job, as long as the area your gonna be painting in is clean... cleaner the better.the time you put in on the prepping pays off when you've got the finished car.
if your not gonna be painting in an oven... then i'd recomend a polisher/buffer like one of these http://www.machinemart.co.uk/product.asp?p=060313180
i get my sponges off ebay... usually one red, one blue and one white. to get that high gloss finish I tend to use medium to light rubbing compound with plenty of water and the buffer running at 1500 or 2000 rpm
if you can get your hands on a viscosity cup then mixing the paint is pretty simple.

me283
03-10-2005, 16:14
There is a saying in the trade, that "if you can p*** you can paint!". Far from jealousy, it's actually quoted by painters themselves - probably to wind up fitters and panel beaters, as painters earn good money.

I would echo what 50420 says, preparation is key here. Also, the environment you are painting in. If it's not in an oven, then the less dust the better; apart from that, the best way to find out is to just go ahead and do it... then keep doing it until you are happy with the end result. You will learn a little more each time, and probably have fun doing so.

Of course, if you feel really ambitious and want to buy an oven, just give me a shout... ;)

Nidge
03-10-2005, 16:16
hi nidge..