PDA

View Full Version : Help/Advice requested for Virgin refer a friend

SirSnortsalot
16-09-2011, 19:07
Hi there,

A quick background. I am a student and I currently have an account with Virgin for broadband and live in a house with 5 other students. I am moving out at the end of this month, and so one of the other housemates volunteered to take over the service.

Initially I just changed all of the online details to his, but when he phoned up to see if he could upgrade, it was still my name and password associated with the main account itself, so they wouldn't let him do anything to it. They said changing the online details is different from changing the main account details. I called them and they said I could pay £20 to change it to his name, and that would start them on a new 12 month contract.

As they are students, I thought it was better if I cancelled the account, and they could sign up for a new 9 month account. I called again to give my 30 days notice, and the guy there asked me about the situation. I told him that I was moving out and someone else would be taking over, and he asked if I wanted to refer them. He said that £50 would be credited to my account, and they would get free installation. I explicitly asked him if I would still get the £50 as I wasn't taking the account with me to my new address and so it would be closed, and he said yes. He said that as soon as the new housemate paid his first bill, I could call customer services and get a cheque for £50. Swell! So I went ahead with the referal. I recorded the date, time and name of the person I spoke to.