PDA

View Full Version : 30M Virgin Media 30mbps problems with Apple Airport Extreme

drmsa
14-05-2011, 21:37
Hi there,

I am very new to Virgin Media. Just had Virgin installed in the morning today, everything went very well. Up and running in around 2 hours from the time the Virgin Engineer came in. Very pleased with the service.

My problems started when I tried to configure my Airport Extreme (dualband version) as a seperate wireless network while being connected through a LAN cable to the Virgin Super hub. The speed I am getting if I connect wirelessly to the Virgin is 30mpbs download and 3mbps upload. However if I connect wirelessly to the Airport Extreme for some reason it keeps coming up with a speed of 5mpbs download and 2 mpbs upload.

What am I missing? Can someone help me with this please.

Thanks in advance.

foddy
14-05-2011, 22:31
I have an airport extreme, but not a SH. I get 50/5Mbps with no problem, the Airport is rock solid for me.

Do you have the airport configured as a gateway (i.e. NAT twice, once by the SH, once by the airport) or is it just working as an access point?

Also, what channels are your SH and airport running on? Do you have the same bandwidth problems on 5GHz as 2.4GHz?

drmsa
14-05-2011, 22:54
I have an airport extreme, but not a SH. I get 50/5Mbps with no problem, the Airport is rock solid for me.

Do you have the airport configured as a gateway (i.e. NAT twice, once by the SH, once by the airport) or is it just working as an access point?

Also, what channels are your SH and airport running on? Do you have the same bandwidth problems on 5GHz as 2.4GHz?

Thanks for the prompt reply foddy. I am sorry but I am not a very network oriented person! I am not able to understand your explanation of NAT twice.

What I really want to do is basically only use my Airport as my router. I would rather not use the SH!