PDA

View Full Version : Does VM traffic manage net radio streams ?

DJ_Nik_Gnashers
31-03-2011, 17:01
I know that VM are seriously limiting peer 2 peer transfers, but I suspect there are a lot more types of traffic they are limiting in order to provide users with acceptable speeds when they run a speedtest.

I cannot stream to, or even listen to net radio stations for the past few weeks, without the stream constantly cutting out and buffering.

I pay for 20MB down and 2MB up, but I cannot listen to a low bitrate net radio like 128kbps without buffers, yet when I do a speedtest the speeds are normal. Before anyone suggests its my PC like some indian call centre twerp, its the same on both laptops and a tower. I have been streaming to shoutcast servers for 9 years, and listenting to net radio for 10 years, but now I am on the fastest speed I have ever been, it seems like something else is the culprit, and my moneys on Virgin Media limiting anything they can get away with, just to free up bandwidth because they cant provide everyone with what they are paying for.

dgcarter
31-03-2011, 18:04
I'm currently listening to NDR Kultur on my 10mb connection with no problems. Perhaps it's a problem with your software.

DJ_Nik_Gnashers
31-03-2011, 20:14
Its not a problem with the software mate thankyou for your suggestion.
I have 4 different PC's, and when the streams start to buffer on one, I can try listening on any of the other 3 and its the same thing.
I am convinced VM are experimenting with throttling / limiting other types of net traffic, and not just peer2peer stuff, or newsgroups etc.