PDA

View Full Version : A question for any teachers on the forum

martyh
15-03-2011, 18:16
My son came home yesterday (just 15 yrs) a tad angry with his school.He has been doing some exams lately which count towards his final gcse next year .He was upset because he was given a C and was told he was 1 mark of getting a B .He asked for the paper back so he could read the examiners remarks and see exactly where he had gone wrong only to be told that it cost £10 to get the paper back .

My question is ,is this normal practice in other schools ? if it is why?

Tezcatlipoca
15-03-2011, 20:57
£10? Sounds like it's being treated as a DPA request?

Paul
15-03-2011, 21:07
Presumably it will involve someones time locating the paper and getting it back to the school ?

Caff
15-03-2011, 21:08
I am a teacher, martyh, but in a primary school so, obviously, GCSE scoring isn't in my realms; however, it's not unusual to query a scoring on a piece of work. (Key Stage 2 exams are sent off for independent marking and paid for by the school).
Take on board that your query will add to someone's workload (in school or externally) and that formal marking is often offloaded to external agencies who will provide the school with a bill for the work.
So... £10 sounds reasonable to me and... Maggie J may well be around soon with more knowledge :)

martyh
15-03-2011, 21:11
£10? Sounds like it's being treated as a DPA request?

i know ,we always used to get our test papers back in the good old days so we could see what we did wrong

---------- Post added at 21:11 ---------- Previous post was at 21:09 ----------

I am a teacher, martyh, but in a primary school so, obviously, GCSE scoring isn't in my realms; however, it's not unusual to query a scoring on a piece of work.
Take on board that your query will add to someone's workload (in school or external) and that formal marking is often offloaded to external agencies who will provide the school with a bill for the work.