PDA

View Full Version : Moneygram help

dgardner
04-12-2010, 02:07
Hi,
I need to send some money to my cousin in norfolk for christmas pressies
for her kids but she doesn't have a bank account so no money transfer
or cheque and she isn't net savvy so no paypal etc.
I could send postal orders but could take weeks to turn up if at all so was thinking
of moneygram through the post office but I have never used it before.
The question is has anyone used it and ho easy is it to get the money
and how much is charged?
Thanks

Uncle Peter
04-12-2010, 02:59
Have you tried Western Union?

www.westernunion.co.uk

dgardner
04-12-2010, 03:54
Thanks for the reply

I first looked at western union but there are no outlets near her whereas with moneyram
she can get the money from the post office

Dai
04-12-2010, 13:06
https://www.moneygram.com/MGI/EN/GB/Market/Market.htm?CC=GB&LC=EN

There's a link on the front page "How much" that takes you to an estimator page. 100 quid costs 12 to send apparently and is available in 10 minutes.

haydnwalker
04-12-2010, 15:12
Whats wrong with just sending cash via Royal Mail Special Delivery? It costs £5 but depends on weight.

---------- Post added at 14:12 ---------- Previous post was at 14:12 ----------

Make sure its well packed though (ie not just an envelope)

Julian
04-12-2010, 16:27
Special Delivery is £5.05 for a letter/package up to 100g which includes £500 insurance and is guaranteed next day delivery. It'sonly 45p more if it's heavier - up to 500g.

If you are sending a card just pop the cash inside the card and send the letter by Special at any Post Office.

Chris
04-12-2010, 16:44
Hi,
I need to send some money to my cousin in norfolk for christmas pressies
for her kids but she doesn't have a bank account so no money transfer
or cheque and she isn't net savvy so no paypal etc.
I could send postal orders but could take weeks to turn up if at all so was thinking
of moneygram through the post office but I have never used it before.