PDA

View Full Version : 50mb Down all day (NG8)

SgtDK
23-05-2010, 21:18
Hello, is the title says my net has been down all day and I'm currently posting from my phone,

my modem ready light is off and isn't even trying to sync and the only light that has been flashing all day is the upload light

checking on 192.168.100.1 my downstream power level is -20.55 and the only active stream is DS-1,

In operation config primary downstream/upstream service flow both say error

I'm no expert so I'm looking for some help and to see if it just me with these problems or if it is an area fault

thanks DK

deathtrap3000
23-05-2010, 22:07
downstream level is way too low. have you contacted virgin yet?

Peter_
23-05-2010, 22:13
In normal operation you would have 3 or 4 Downstreams depending on what we use in your area, but with only having one downstream the power level does not really matter as you are not online.

What is the Upstream power.

If it is not back on by 0800 tomorrow morning then you will need to call the 50Mb Support Team on 0800 052 0431.

Do not ring now unless you want to speak to Offshore.

SgtDK
23-05-2010, 23:16
Upstream power level is 21.18

Yes I contacted virgin best they could donwas an engineer on Thursday which tbh is pretty terrible

Peter_
23-05-2010, 23:22
Upstream power level is 21.18

Yes I contacted virgin best they could donwas an engineer on Thursday which tbh is pretty terrible
It could easily be an area fault and if you spoke to India they will just follow process and book an engineer by default.

Call again tomorrow after 0800 and speak to a UK agent who be able to advise you further.

Last week my Internet was down Monday to Friday which is a first for me but at least I could browse on my phone.

SgtDK
23-05-2010, 23:24
Refreshed upstream a few time and the power level was jumping all over the place from 42 to 51 and 58

Peter_
23-05-2010, 23:27