PDA

View Full Version : Installation 20/11/09 - Few Questions

SP33DFR3@K
06-11-2009, 19:39
Hi All,

Im a newbie to this site, however am quite good with routers as I work for Belkin.

I have just moved house from a village where I was limited to an ADSL at about 4mb via O2 BB.

The new house is a 3 storey victorian house, Ieither had the option of getting ADSL again and the telephone exchange is opposite my house on my road (samknows says 0 metres) or getting cable. I decided to get VM cable 10mb to start of with.

My installation date is 20th November and we are getting 10mb BB & unlimted anytime calls, first time I have been a Virgin customer too.

The few questions I have is . . .

1, As I have the top floor to myself I would like the Broadband modem on the top floor and the phone connection in the hall way downstairs. Will there be any problems with doing this??

2, If there is a problem with number 1 above then, as the house is large i will need a router with a good coverage. Is the one Virgin provide me with N ??. If not then ill still have the freebie however will have to make you of my staff discount.

3, Another alternative to option 2 would be for me to get some powerline adaptors.

4, If he cannot install on top floor then if I have the telephone connection near the front door, whre would the best place be for me to have the BB connection located as techs at work have suggested if they cannot put in top floor to have in middle of house somewhere so the router gets best coverage.

5, Is there any other hints and tips you may have about things to request or ask for on the day of installation.

Many thanks

SP33DFR3@K
07-11-2009, 12:41
52 views and no answers ???

Please can someone help.

Thanks

Mezzle
07-11-2009, 12:45
The few questions I have is . . .

1, As I have the top floor to myself I would like the Broadband modem on the top floor and the phone connection in the hall way downstairs. Will there be any problems with doing this??