PDA

View Full Version : PCguard and Windows Defender

Fivegoats
01-10-2009, 18:06
I'm a newbie so hopefully this is in the right section of the forum.

I've been running PCguard without problems on a Vista(now SP2) laptop since February, with Windows Defender turned off. An update for Windows Defender arrived today & installed OK and prompts me to ask: can I run both or are they liable to trip over each other?

Thanks for any help.

Xtinguish
01-10-2009, 19:19
I use Windows Defender with Avast and find that's the best config.

Fivegoats
04-10-2009, 10:45
I use Windows Defender with Avast and find that's the best config.

Thanks for the advice. PCguard has been OK but as Defender is built into Vista I thought I'd use it as well if no conflicts. If I can find more on this, or maybe just try it and see, I'll add more to this thread. Thanks again for your reply.

Peter_
04-10-2009, 13:43
PC Guard and Windows Defender work fine on my daughters machine.

webcrawler2050
04-10-2009, 15:10
I'm a newbie so hopefully this is in the right section of the forum.

I've been running PCguard without problems on a Vista(now SP2) laptop since February, with Windows Defender turned off. An update for Windows Defender arrived today & installed OK and prompts me to ask: can I run both or are they liable to trip over each other?

Thanks for any help.

PC Guard is pants and is Windows Defender. Use Commodo - it's free and one of the best out there in my eyes.

Haighy
08-10-2009, 01:51
Micro$oft have just released MSE (Microsoft Security Essentials, google it), which is a free AV product. Some think Norton et al should be worried.
My son in law installed it on his computer, after removing Norton 360, and it found quite a few things that Norton hadn't.
Worth a look.
Anybody else played with it ?

Edit. How unhelpful was (google it) ?
Sorry :-)

http://www.microsoft.com/Security_essentials/

Xtinguish
08-10-2009, 10:04