PDA

View Full Version : Electrical (Dangerous?)

Barewolf
20-05-2009, 12:47
Hi,

I can’t help but be a bit concerned regarding some LED strip lighting I ordered from this company.
I spent £220 for the lighting, and when it arrived it had a 12v Power supply similar to something you would use for a mobile phone with a connector on the end.
The strips themselves look fine, at the end is 2 wires which go into a plastic case, immediately looking at the power supply I was confused as to how this connects to the LED strip, until I looked at the instructions (Attached) which state I have to cut the end off to connect the wires together.
Firstly, is this safe? I mean there’s 240 volts going from the socket, and the adapter says 12volts, I’m no electrician, to me if you mess with wiring you're messing with your life. If I did cut the end off and connected it with tape is this going to be sufficient to stop a fire or any shocks? Also would this type of installation cause the electricity switchboard to cut out as it has a safety feature?
Not happy with this at all.

Kymmy
20-05-2009, 12:50
the transformer will be fully isolated so all you have is the 12V and not mains voltage..

Just remember to have it unplugged when you do the cutting so you don;t short out the supply (voltage is fine to touch with your hands as it's way below the voltage needed to counteract skin resistance (about 50v))

Also make sure that if the supply is DC that it tells you which way round the wires go (no need to be fussy for AC 12v)

Stuart
20-05-2009, 12:54
You should not connect the two wires together with tape. You should use a proper electrical terminal block, such as http://www.maplin.co.uk/module.aspx?moduleno=42654 from maplin. If you buy those, just cut off the connectors you need.

Kymmy
20-05-2009, 13:30
By the look of it the instructions seem to indicate that a connector block is provided (hard to see in the picture as the contrast is poor but there is one there)

Barewolf
20-05-2009, 16:29