PDA

View Full Version : Help for a complete novice- broadband

punio75
28-01-2009, 10:26
Hope someone can help guys. I am a complete novice so bear with me.

I have recently purcased Virgin cable (20mb package) . The netgear wireless router that came free with it I set up and got this working. However the installer said for my package this router would not give me the speeds I was paying for? Firstly is this correct?

I took some advice from a friend who suggested the belkin N1, have tried this but the connection does drop out and the laptop prefers to find some neighbours router!!! Really messed things up! :rolleyes:
It needs to be connected to a laptop, Wii and PS3.

Do I even need a new router?

chickendippers
28-01-2009, 10:36
The Wireless g standard should be enough to provide you with 20Mbit - however this will depend on interference from other devices (microwave, bluetooth, other wireless networks etc) and signal strength.

punio75
28-01-2009, 10:47
Thanks - so I should/could stick with the router Virgin provided?

Chris
28-01-2009, 10:55
A wireless router can only work at the speed of the slowest device connected to it. How old is your laptop? Does it have a 'g' standard wireless card? If all three of your devices are at least 'g' standard (dunno about your consoles, but they're modern so I assume they're up to standard) then you should have no problem with the Virgin router.

I wouldn't be so quick to blame your Belkin when your laptop tries to connect to a neighbour's router though, you can tell your laptop which network to prefer easily enough.

punio75
28-01-2009, 11:07
Laptop's couple of years old - so should be good (can't check now due to being at work)
I suppose I will stick with the one Virgin provided and sell the belkin (more profit that way I guess).

How can I check what speeds I'm getting?

Pog66
28-01-2009, 11:18
there is a speedtest link at the top of this page - make sure you run it when nowt else is connecting to the Internet