PDA

View Full Version : Paypal

greencreeper
21-10-2008, 01:16
Not impressed. Not impressed at all :(

Email arrived this morning "Your payment has been initiated", followed by another "Payment accepted". I was hoping to leave early for work and was going to wait until I got home for further investigation, thinking it must be another of those fake Paypal emails. I figured I best check. Logged into Paypal and there's a transaction - transfer of money. $125 dollars to someone whose details I do not recognise. My debit card account. Panic :disturbd: :Sprint: Phoned the bank and cancelled the card - they can't do anything for 3 days, until the money has actually left the account. Humf. I've got £8 in my account now. Deleted all my cards from Paypal and changed my password for Paypal and Ebay. Logged a dispute with Paypal and they quickly (too quickly) refunded the money. The other person, who was paid with my money, has also lost out. Now bearing in mind...

I'm an IT professional
I sit behind a router and software firewall
I have an anti-virus program running
I have Spybot installed
I have a tripwire monitoring changes to the registry - they keys to start programs on boot/logon
My email address is a me.uk - not common
My password is secure - mixture of words and numbers

How did they access my account? :erm:

If you're reading this, delete your cards from Paypal. They're not be trusted.

Alien
21-10-2008, 06:32
The only card I had registered with them was my Visa Debit, & that was an old 1 that expired ages ago, so nobody would be able to get money from me via Paypal anyway, unless I registered my new card details.