PDA

View Full Version : Advice Before Switching To Virgin Media

ozzy_26
17-10-2008, 01:23
Hi All,

I am a newbie to the forum and have been reading trough post but not being very technical just wanted to check a few things and get some advice.

My ISP is up for re-newel and as I am currently with BT I just wanted to check a few things before going over to Virgin Media. The package I would take out would be the 10mb broadband with unlimited phone calls.

From reading post on the forum I am I right in saying if I get a VM engineer to install there master phone line socket by my existing BT socket they can move all my existing BT extensions over to the VM socket? Only reason is I have 4 phones round the house using BT sockets which I don’t want to lose if I go over to VM. Does this also mean if this was the case and I ever needed to go back to BT as there master socket would still be in place I wouldn’t need to pay the reconnection fee? And my final question does the VM cable router for the broadband need to be near the master phone socket as uses the same cable for phone/broadband or can this be put in any room I want? For example master phone socket in lounge and VM cable router in study up stairs?

Apologies for the long post but just trying to get my head round things as like I said before I am not very technical.

Any help or advice would be much appreciated.

Thanks

moaningmags
17-10-2008, 02:10
I can't speak for the telephone side of it as I don't know much about it.
As for the cable broadband, they will fit it anywhere in the house you want it, it doesn't have to be anywhere near a telephone socket as it doesn't use the telephone line.

Pog66
17-10-2008, 12:41