PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone tell me what a cable simulator is?

sparky621
11-09-2008, 21:51
Hi all,
A few weeks back, while I was away with work, my wife started to have problems with our cable B/B. She tells me that the "Ready" LED would go off and the "Sync" LED would start to flash. Later that day there happened to be an istallation guy doing some work opposite so she called him over.
He metered our connection and told her that the levels were way too high. He then fitted three inline devices between the modem and the incoming coax. Two of them are 15dB attenuators (I'm an electrical engineer so I know what these are!). The 3rd is a "cable simulator.What exactly is this for?

By the way, the day after I got home the modem dropped its connection again so I removed all three devices and we haven't lost our connection since!

whydoIneedatech
11-09-2008, 21:54
Here is a couple of links for you

http://www.freepatentsonline.com/5738525.html

http://gaj.ca/ an inexpensive way for testing cable modems it says.

monkey2468
11-09-2008, 22:25
Hi all,
A few weeks back, while I was away with work, my wife started to have problems with our cable B/B. She tells me that the "Ready" LED would go off and the "Sync" LED would start to flash. Later that day there happened to be an istallation guy doing some work opposite so she called him over.
He metered our connection and told her that the levels were way too high. He then fitted three inline devices between the modem and the incoming coax. Two of them are 15dB attenuators (I'm an electrical engineer so I know what these are!). The 3rd is a "cable simulator.What exactly is this for?

By the way, the day after I got home the modem dropped its connection again so I removed all three devices and we haven't lost our connection since!
They reduce the digial signal level but not the analogue. (opposite to a equaliser)

You shpoldn't really need attenuators above 6db. Any higher and he should have dropped your levels at the cab.