PDA

View Full Version : [Merged] Are VM now throttling newsgroups? Mine seems to be!

stepone
03-07-2008, 11:13
Recently (the past 2 weeks) i've found that when downloading from newsgroups my connection now stays pretty much flat on 10mb & never gets any higher. I'm on 20mb & used to get a consistent 15-18mb from my usenet service giganews (I use 6 connections & 2 is enough to attain max speed from giganews).

I've been using Giganews usenet service for over 5 years now & they've always maxed out my connection!

I've not downloaded enough to hit the STM limits as i've only dl'd top gear & the daily show the last 2 weeks.

To test my speed I then downloaded a couple of 1080p movie trailers from apple & these both hit 18mb download speeds.

This certainly appears to be application throttling to me as I can't find anything wrong with my connection & other apps still seem to be getting decent speeds above 10mb (well seeded torrents etc). Also the fact that the speed is staying exactly at 10mb & never going over seems to be proof that the connection is being limited.

10mb isn't so bad but i'm paying for 20mb & that's what I should be getting! If I was a heavy downloader that would be one thing but i've barely downloaded 5gb's in the last 2 weeks!

VM really are starting to **** me off with all these restrictions on usage & if this turns out to be another one i'm going to have to seriously look into changing isp's (luckily I have lots of LLU providers here).

Is anyone else experiencing usenet throttling?

dev
03-07-2008, 11:40
quick test:

download using 1 thread off giganews newsgroup server, record the speed
do the speed test on giganews's site and compare the speed

comparing speed from giganews and apple isn't a fair test as they end up using different routes which can have varying capacity and current utilisation

xspeedyx
03-07-2008, 12:44
quick test:

download using 1 thread off giganews newsgroup server, record the speed