PDA

View Full Version : Considering moving over to Cable

Chaos Prime
18-04-2008, 15:35
Hi there, i have never used cable before. I have always used ADSL. however due to inconsistencies with the connection and speeds, im tired of poor performance.

What i would like to know is the following:

Do the same rules apply in terms of distance from exchange?

If no is replied to the above question, if i went for the 20MB connection will i actually get the 20MB (2.4MB) per sec?

Whats the net/service/performance like? By this i ask of downtime. mine goes down more than im prepared to deal with currently.

I hope thats not too much to ask

Thanks in advance
Chaos Prime

The Jackal
18-04-2008, 15:55
Have you tried bethere.co.uk ?

If you can get it I will happily swap it for this useless 20meg XL 'bored'band that I currently have :)

ps If you get 20meg Virgin 'bored'band you can use it for about an hour before you are traffic managed down to 5meg.

boroboi
18-04-2008, 16:01
Id rather be traffic managed to 5 meg, than be on 4 meg, and traffic managed to 1 ..

Cally
18-04-2008, 16:09
Hi i have just joined virgin on the 8th april 2008 on the 20mb service , as you mentioned the distance does not affect your speed like it does adsl , i just left adsl as i was having same issues as you.

I did a speed test and got 19.2mb speed rating ,so you might get anywhere between 18-20mb rating , so all good there , you must also realise that whe nyou d/l it depends alot on where you are d/l form to achieve the 2.4mb/sec speed , you can only recieve as fast as they can send you so some sites you will not see that kind of speed.

Only thing is i just recieved my free wireless router netgear model WGR614 which is only a 54mbps model , and it also did not arrive until today the 18th april due to some mix up.

I did assume being on the 20 mb service it would be a 108mbps model.

No Downtime as of yet btw , so all in all its a relief from adsl i can tell you.