PDA

View Full Version : Signal from modem stopped working through router(s) - help pls

ChinaCrisis
02-04-2008, 20:05
Hi all
I am a newbie here, so please be gentle! I suddenly got a problem which I have not encountered before, and it is baffling me. I have a Scientific Atlanta 2100 modem (a WebSTAR EPC2100R2) which Virgin Media installed in January after a workman dug up cables and blew something in the local Virgin junction box, which then made my previous modem go wonky. I send the signal to a Linksys BEFSR41 router, which is hooked up to Powerline plugs and sent round the house via the mains circuit. All has been working fine until this morning...
When I switched my PC on I could not get any access to the internet. So I plugged the PC ethernet cable directly into the modem and still nothing. A phone call to the Virgin Media Support bods finally sorted it, or so I thought. Having still been unable to get any signal through the modem, the support guy got me to type in ipconfig/all in the cmd box and it turned out the Default Gateway was blank.
So he got me to reboot everything, and hey presto it acquired the gateway address and I was able to connect to the internet. Until I tried going through the router. Even though I get a message in the task bar saying the Local Area Connection is connected, it is just not giving me any internet connection at all. Pinging the BBC website in the cmd box produces the response that it cannot find the host. I even switched to a different router, as I have a new Powerline router I plan to use in another room. I know it works as I have tested it at my sister's. But I get the same result - no internet connection.
I even tried swapping the ethernet cable from the modem to the router but it made no difference. Yet as soon as I bypass the router and go directly from the modem to the PC it works again!