PDA

View Full Version : Any Taxi Drivers Here?

Graham M
15-11-2007, 10:08
I'm sure there must be!

Hi guys, I'm going through the motions of applying for my Hackney license (Boy, what a long drawn out procedure!) anyways, for the knowledge test, can anyone give me some hints on learning the roads I don't know in the area that I have to know?

Cheers!

Zeph

Graham M
15-11-2007, 15:58
Noone got any tips at all?

Uncle Peter
15-11-2007, 16:42
Is there anywhere you can get a list of streets for your area? Make a list of the ones you're not familiar with and find out where they are with multimap/streetmap. Maybe you could spend a few days going through the list at random and seeing if you can work out how to drive there?

Might be a bit of a daunting task mind you.

Graham M
15-11-2007, 16:50
Yeah ive got maps, etc. and so on I've been an operator for 2 years so I know a lot of the roads and areas, it's just a case of filling in the gaps!

altis
15-11-2007, 17:05
I seem to remember Fred Housego or someone saying that they went out for days on their bike. You'll notice a lot more than in a car, it's healthier for you and the environment and it's free!

Graham M
15-11-2007, 17:20
Yeah not a bad idea Altis, if we get some nice days where I'm free I may well do that!

Nidge
16-11-2007, 18:20
I'm sure there must be!

Hi guys, I'm going through the motions of applying for my Hackney license (Boy, what a long drawn out procedure!) anyways, for the knowledge test, can anyone give me some hints on learning the roads I don't know in the area that I have to know?

Cheers!

Zeph

Ask the local cabbies who have done the knowledge if the questions are the same all the time? You'll find out that the questions the Council will ask you are the same questions they ask all the new applicants.

The Hitman
16-11-2007, 18:36
Could always buy a good ol fashioned SatNav

Graham M
07-12-2007, 10:47
Could always buy a good ol fashioned SatNav