PDA

View Full Version : Never had cable before.. Getting 20meg..Need advice

tobywuk
11-09-2007, 20:19
Hello.

I am moving house soon and there is virgin media available but i have never used it before.

*Is the 20Mb broadband actually 20mb unlike the BT broadband equivalent of "8mb" when its not actually 8 but it could be anything between 2 and 8mb?

*I head that cable internet users share bandwidth with neighbors and so if all your neighbors are using the internet at the same time does this mean my internet speed will be slower?

*There will be four of us living in my new house and i wish to have internet in each of the 4 bedrooms. Like broadband, does cable internet only come into the house from one point/socket and so a router is used to share the network connection around the house in a network? There seems to be Cable sockets in each of the 4 bedrooms and so this is confusing me.

*With virgin media will they supply me with a free Cable router or will they just give me a modem that i have to just plug straight into my current broadband router i have?

Sorry for all the questions, but im totally new to the this whole cable thing! thanks.

MovedGoalPosts
11-09-2007, 20:54
Cable speeds aren't affected by distance from the exchange, as is the case with ADSL. Thus you should be able to get much closer to the claimed 20Meg download speed, subject to other network factors.

Cable, like ADSL is a contended service. Thus you will be affected by those nearby that use that shared bandwidth. Indeed this is usually the most significant reason why people complain of slow speeds on cable.

Yes there will only be one cable connection to the property, connected to the single modem that is supplied by Virgin Media. To share that connection you will need to supply a router.

AbyssUnderground
11-09-2007, 21:02