PDA

View Full Version : The BBC iPlayer and uploading

Theodoric
23-08-2007, 21:15
I read in today's TechnologyGuardian that the BBC iPlayer users a P2P application called Kontiki, so that you are allowing others to upload from your PC. Now, I'm probably unique in never having used any P2P applications so I've no experience of them. What I was wondering was whether there is anything to be worried about in allowing others to use my PC as a server. I'm guessing not.

nicke261192
23-08-2007, 23:56
I use BBC iPlayer a lot and i dont think i have that program :S i cant see the BBC making our computers vunerable can you?

Nikesh
24-08-2007, 10:00
I use BBC iPlayer a lot and i dont think i have that program :S

Check in your Program Files. I have a folder called Kontiki and the KService.exe runs on startup unless you've disabled it.

evilmonkey
24-08-2007, 12:11
if you check your services list in administration you will see a service called kservices I had to disable this as the iplayer kept using all my upstream even after I had closed the iplayer down! BBC support is useless and they dont want to know.

Chris
24-08-2007, 12:20
I use BBC iPlayer a lot and i dont think i have that program :S i cant see the BBC making our computers vunerable can you?

I couldn't see Blue Peter rigging a competition, but there you go. ;)

if you check your services list in administration you will see a service called kservices I had to disable this as the iplayer kept using all my upstream even after I had closed the iplayer down! BBC support is useless and they dont want to know.

Don't want to know, or simply don't know? For once I'm glad the BBC hasn't supported Mac from day one with this, hopefully by the time the BBC Trust manages to force them to support other platforms they will have refined the iPlayer so that it doesn't do this.

evilmonkey
24-08-2007, 12:24
I couldn't see Blue Peter rigging a competition, but there you go. ;)