PDA

View Full Version : Thinking of moving from AOL to Virgin

Kate Irvine
20-06-2007, 14:01
I have been using AOL for almost 10 years and I currently access AOL broadband service via Virgin cable. I am thinking of cancelling my AOL plan to take advantage of Virgin's much cheaper costs (since I already have Virgin phone and TV). Not only that I cannot access my employer's VPN due to browser issues with AOL software, so moving totally over to Virgin would allow me to do this (I think!).

I am using a PC (not laptop) with Windows XP and have a few questions before I make my move -

1) When I checked Virgin's site to assess PC compatibility it said that an Ethernet Card is required to access their service. I checked device manager and under network adaptors it shows my cable model and also an SIS 900-based PCI Fast Ethernet Adaptor. Does this mean I already have a card installed? If not the same thing, how do I check to see if I have an Ethernet card installed or not?

2) I have seen reference to a MAC number on this site. What is this? Would I need to get this from AOL if I was cancelling service from them to allow me to get set up with Virgin?

3) How straightforward is it to set up Virgin access when I have been using AOL for so long?

4) Since cable supplied already by Virgin, I am assuming that they would just post me a modem box and start up disc. Or would my existing AOL box work?

Any help would be appreciated because the longer I dither about making the change the more it costs me.

Halcyon
20-06-2007, 14:14
:welcome: to the forums.

1) It sounds like you have one installed.
To find out look on the back of your computer for a port that looks like this:
http://support.morehouse.edu/whatis-network/ethernet-jack-on-computer.jpg

2) No you do not need to get a Mac from AOL.
This is a unique address that belongs to the modem.
It comes with the modem that VirginMedia give to you.