PDA

View Full Version : Why is finding a job so hard?

cimt
02-05-2007, 23:59
OK I'm a college student and I go to college Monday - Thursday. I'm currently trying to find a part time job. Why is finding a job so hard? The job centre and Connexions are useless.

Maggy
03-05-2007, 00:03
OK I'm a college student and I go to college Monday - Thursday. I'm currently trying to find a part time job. Why is finding a job so hard? The job centre and Connexions are useless.

Could be your age I suppose.Working in places like supermarkets and shops where you may have to sell alcohol or tabacco but can't because you aren't 18 yet.Cuts out bar work as well.:erm:

cimt
03-05-2007, 00:08
Yeah it could be to do with age. It's horrible as I'm only on EMA so I only get £30 a week. I might aswell sign up for job seekers allowance which gives me an idea...

Maggy
03-05-2007, 00:12
Yeah it could be to do with age. It's horrible as I'm only on EMA so I only get £30 a week. I might aswell sign up for job seekers allowance which gives me an idea...

Well my son wasn't eligible for EMA so count yourself fortunate that you actually get something...Anyway you can't get JS while attending college.

I'm sure if you persevere you will find a job..even if it is only stacking shelves at Tescos.:tu:

Chris W
03-05-2007, 00:13
is there a shopping mall near you? If so, just print loads of copies of your CV and just go round all the shops you like the look of and check if they have anything available. Nothing to be lost from asking!

Also check out fast food outlets- macdonalds, burger king, kfc, pizza hut. Do you drive? If so delivering is an option- the money isn't bad for what you have to do.

Another option is waitering- local hotels and restaurants may well have some work for you.

Maggy
03-05-2007, 00:18