PDA

View Full Version : Installation Wayleave

Claymore
27-11-2006, 14:51
Hi,

I'm hoping to find some answers here that no one at NTL has been able to provide me with (there have been some helpful people, but none of them have been able to go into as much detail as I'd have liked).

The problem is this: I've just bought a flat and have been looking at getting cable or ADSL (cable preferred, otherwise I'm stuck with a measly 1.5Mb/s and I use broadband on a daily basis as I'm a self employed games programmer!) and discovered that the street was wired for NTL. Upon enquiring further I was told that the street is cabled, but the flat building isn't and the reason for this is that the people on the ground floor objected to it and apparently this is called a waylay.

After reading this thread: http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/showthread.php?t=10001 it's a little bit clearer as to what the problem is, however...

1) Why do they need permission from the person on the ground floor when there's a HUGE communal staircase they can go through which already has access areas for pipeworks and other things?

2) I'm a little confused about what they mean by the ground floor as in this case the ground floor is all garages (one of which I now own) and the flats don't start until the first floor.

3) If the communal staircase isn't an option, is there any other way around it other than getting the person on the ground floor to agree to it all?

Thanks for your help!

Brian.

Claymore
29-11-2006, 10:57
If no one has any answers then perhaps someone can point me to the contact details of someone at NTL who may actually be able to help me find out what I need to know?

captain747480
29-11-2006, 11:21
I'm not an expert so don't take this as gospel but the situation as I understand it is this:-

If you own the leasehold to your property, as part of that leasehold you will have the right to use the communal areas of the property but you do not own the communal areas.