PDA

View Full Version : IT Support

greencreeper
26-09-2004, 12:59
I know this forum is stuffed full of IT support type people, so share with us your tips, tricks and anecdotes. I'm doing 2nd line IT support, but I'm still learning the systems and what not. I can't wait to start handling calls :disturbd:

Russ
26-09-2004, 13:15
While at ntl I spent 5 minutes on a call (I know 5 minutes doesn't seem long but try to picture this...) trying to get this guy to right-click on 'My Computer' so I could check his system resources. Each time he tried to do it, he would tell me he could see "C drive, E drive" etc which evidently told me he was left-clicking. I made sure his mouse configuration was the right way around and it was fine but no matter what I asked him to do, he seemed to have problems right-clicking. Anyway, I eventually found his system resources another way but it was bugging me - why could he not use the right-click feature?

Eventually I cracked it - he told me that when I said 'right-click' he though I meant he was to use his right hand.....

greencreeper
26-09-2004, 13:20
Eventually I cracked it - he told me that when I said 'right-click' he though I meant he was to use his right hand.....
:disturbd: I hope they're all not that bad. God. What have I done :p:

Russ
26-09-2004, 13:21
Oh no, that sort of thing is very uncommon in my experience.

Although another good one was when I asked a guy to click on My Computer.

His reply was "I don't know where your computer is".

greencreeper
26-09-2004, 13:25
It's mostly Americans and Europeans with poor English that'll end up with :erm: I'm trying to find out how to say "I don't speak French" :D I've got the "Goodbye" bit :p:

Stuart
26-09-2004, 14:43
Well, this actually happened to a friend. I work for a Uni doing student support. One of our guys got called in to sort out the then head of school's computer.