PDA

View Full Version : Can't send attachments - V poor upload problem

Ashover
20-08-2004, 08:30
Ever since NTL decided to have a day of last week, I have been unable to send attachments or upload files to my websites. The predictable response from NTL was that it was nothing to do with them, it was my anti virus software or firewall even though disabling them makes absolutely no difference.
Being so pigged off, I did an online speed test which showed downstream speeds of over 700 kps, but an upstream speed of only 16kps.
Any ideas anyone? I'm no expert but it does seem that the NTL help wallahs aren't going to be much use to me and I would like to resume sending email attachments.

Bifta
20-08-2004, 08:51
What happens when you try to send attached files? What email client are you using? What OS are you using? If you're on the 600 (or whatever speed it is now) service with NTL, then 16kbps upload is perfectly normal.

Ashover
20-08-2004, 09:08
I'm using Outlook Express 6 on Windows 98 SE. It initially starts to send the mail and I get the following error message.

Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Subject '', Account: 'xxxxxx', Server: 'smtp.ntlworld.com', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 10054, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F

I'm not part of a network and haven't changed or added anything since before these problems began.

Bifta
20-08-2004, 09:18
I'm using Outlook Express 6 on Windows 98 SE. It initially starts to send the mail and I get the following error message.

Your server has unexpectedly terminated the connection. Possible causes for this include server problems, network problems, or a long period of inactivity. Subject '', Account: 'xxxxxx', Server: 'smtp.ntlworld.com', Protocol: SMTP, Port: 25, Secure(SSL): No, Socket Error: 10054, Error Number: 0x800CCC0F