PDA

View Full Version : Costs of House Modernisation

lemarsh
18-08-2004, 09:06
Thanks to all those who posted regarding my potential 'Orange' house (http://www.cableforum.co.uk/board/showthread.php?t=16213) - but I now have a 2nd potential property on the list.

However, this Edwardian 3 bed house has no central heating, bad decour (I can live with that to start of with), and needs new bathroom & kitchen.

The trouble is, before I seriously consider putting in an offer, I would like an rough estimate of the cost of kitchen/bathroom & central heating.

I have estimated about £11k for bathroom & kitchen, but have no idea of central heating. It is a 3 bed, 2 reception room, without anything in place at present. Any suggestions? Are the bathroom/kitchen figs in the right ballpark?

I have no DIY experience, so will either be using people I know (paying the going rate) or getting companies in to do it.

detail below:
http://www.townends.co.uk/photos/add_add040362.JPG
Edwardian Semi-Detached House, Three Bedrooms, Two Reception Rooms

Offering three double bedrooms this Edwardian house offers great potential for extension and improvement. Externally the property includes a 65ft rear garden. The property includes two reception rooms, large hall and landing giving flexible scope to change the layout (STPP). Ideally situated for the town centre and BR station we anticipate early interest.

Chris
18-08-2004, 09:37
You can certainly get your kitchen and bathroom for 11k, but it will depend a little on who you get to do it for you and how hard a bargain you can drive. A local independent showroom will almost certainly be your best bet (get recommendations from your neighbours).

As for central heating ... haven't a clue, sorry! But, it is well worth doing with the house empty of your posessions if at all possible. Is the house you want to buy vacant or occupied at present?

SMHarman
18-08-2004, 09:47