PDA

View Full Version : Virus help - unable to run notepad or regedit

heyyo
26-06-2004, 00:17
Im a newbie when it comes to computer knowledge. i have used ad-aware, spybot, norton, panda antivirus...and it found viruses which i cleaned, but many are still remaining....for example when i click to open notepad it installs xxxtoolbar and a pop-up appears Purity Scan and the same when i try run regedit.

Also in program files (C:\Program Files\ISTbar) which includes istbar.dll, i cannot delete this as it wont let me as it says access is denied.

I have googled all these viruses with no real idea of how to deal with it...

When i tried the online panda antivirus scan it found over 300 viruses, which i dont think u can fix online. it just informed me of it. i tried my offline version of panda and it found nothing on a complete computer scan.

I also downloaded Scan Spyware (shareware) it found loads of viruses in my registry but it would not allow me to delete the viruses as i have to make a purchase.

Can anyone advise me what to do now?

Russ
26-06-2004, 00:20
Get yourself a quality free AV product such as the one found here (http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_dwnl_free.php) if you don't really feel like splashing the cash.

As for ISTbar, try booting your pc up in Safe Mode (reboot your machine and as it starts up, keep pressing F8, and chose 'safe mode' when the option comes up) and go in to Program Files and delete it that way, it should work.

Let us know how it goes.

Chris W
26-06-2004, 02:03
If you found 300 viruses i would seriously consider scrapping the whole lot- reformat the hard drive, install an AV package, firewall and spyware blocker and start afresh. Prevention is alot better than treatment.

MovedGoalPosts
26-06-2004, 02:03