PDA

View Full Version : Can I have some wireless setup knowledge please?

Aff
24-07-2003, 14:18
Hi all,

got my BB upgraded to 600k today. received the following in the post yesterday :-

Linksys 54G router (connected to pc via cable)
Linksys 54G pcmcia card (wireless to laptop)
Linksys WET11 (wireless to xbox)

I think wiring (or not) is no problem, i only have to do the cable modem to the router to the pc. the others are wireless.

so can you tell me what i'd need to do.

install ALL the software on my pc? or laptop, xbox or all of them???

what will i need off NTL?

what knowledge to i need?

i know absoutely nothing of networking and minimal computer knowledge if i get in a pickle but i'm preparing to try tonight.

i'm a little worried about hackers too.

and MAC cloning. is this important?

thanks for the info, the how to guides are a little over my head. eengleesh for the layman anyone?

Caspar
24-07-2003, 14:44
Have you seen Wireless Gaming thread (http://www.nthellworld.co.uk/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=1342) in the XBOX Useful Information (http://www.nthellworld.co.uk/forum/forumdisplay.php?s=&forumid=16) forum.

Originally posted by Aff
Hi all,

got my BB upgraded to 600k today. received the following in the post yesterday :-

Linksys 54G router (connected to pc via cable)
Linksys 54G pcmcia card (wireless to laptop)
Linksys WET11 (wireless to xbox)

I think wiring (or not) is no problem, i only have to do the cable modem to the router to the pc. the others are wireless.

so can you tell me what i'd need to do.

Sounds like you have everything you need! :D

Originally posted by Aff

install ALL the software on my pc? or laptop, xbox or all of them???

You will need to set the router up, following the instructions guide that came with it. The WEP security is disabled by default so make sure you enable that.

There's a note what to do with the Bridge in the guide linked above.

Originally posted by Aff

what will i need off NTL?