Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 10-01-2018, 09:45   #16
downquark1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 31
Services: Plusnet FFTC
Posts: 4,439
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by pip08456 View Post
Firefox was also patched in the 57.0.4 release.

Also



Source
Well this was never really the claim. The 30% thing comes from cases where the computer is reading hard drives in tiny intervals constantly. Which the average user is unlikely to do. It could be detrimental to datacentres who purchase huge amounts of CPUs and ultimately affect the price.
__________________
"Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil."
downquark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 11-01-2018, 13:03   #17
alanbjames
cf.mega poster
 
alanbjames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Swansea, South Wales UK.
Age: 66
Services: XL Phone, XXL 350mb BB.
Posts: 1,785
alanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud ofalanbjames has much to be proud of
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

I wonder if datacenters will switch to AMD now.
alanbjames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 14:21   #18
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,488
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by downquark1 View Post
Well this was never really the claim. The 30% thing comes from cases where the computer is reading hard drives in tiny intervals constantly. Which the average user is unlikely to do. It could be detrimental to datacentres who purchase huge amounts of CPUs and ultimately affect the price.
The ponit of mentioning the 30% for users was because sensationalism sells.
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 16:39   #19
SnoopZ
CF Resident Dog
 
SnoopZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 10,217
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
SnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny starsSnoopZ has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

There are reports that computers running intel with Windows 7,8.1will see the greatest % hit as well as intel Haswell and earlier cpus.

Nvidia have just released drivers in support of the issues. http://www.tomshardware.co.uk/nvidia...ews-57697.html

It would be nice to have a single thread on this meltdown, spectre issue as it affects so many different products.
__________________
PSN: Snoopzster
SnoopZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2018, 16:39   #20
Paul M
Dr Pepper Addict
Cable Forum Team
 
Paul M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Nottingham
Age: 55
Services: VM Phone : Sky TV : VM Cable (350 Mbps) : Sky BB (38 Mbps)
Posts: 21,418
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Paul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny starsPaul M has a pair of shiny stars
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by alanbjames View Post
I wonder if datacenters will switch to AMD now.
Highly unlikely, that would cost far too much, and affect performance.

Besides which AMD are affected by one of the two issues anyway.
__________________

Baby, I was born this way.
Paul M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 12:00   #21
downquark1
cf.mega poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Age: 31
Services: Plusnet FFTC
Posts: 4,439
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
downquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appealdownquark1 has a bronzed appeal
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Highly unlikely, that would cost far too much, and affect performance.

Besides which AMD are affected by one of the two issues anyway.
Well they are unlikely to replace existing machines, but they may start purchasing AMD for new machines.
__________________
"Knowledge is Power. Power Corrupts. Study Hard. Be Evil."
downquark1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-01-2018, 15:20   #22
pip08456
Sad Doig Fan!
 
pip08456's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Barry South Wales
Age: 61
Services: As I spend little time at home have an arrangemet to use a neighbours SKY connection for a small fee
Posts: 6,488
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
pip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze arraypip08456 has a bronze array
Re: Intel silicon bug to affect VM SH3?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul M View Post
Highly unlikely, that would cost far too much, and affect performance.

Besides which AMD are affected by one of the two issues anyway.
Now or in the process of being mitagated.

https://www.amd.com/en/corporate/spe...?sf178974629=1
pip08456 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 02:42.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.