Home News Forum Articles
  Welcome back Join CF
You are here You are here: Home | Forum | Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most of the discussions, articles and other free features. By joining our Virgin Media community you will have full access to all discussions, be able to view and post threads, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload your own images/photos, and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please join our community today.


Welcome to Cable Forum
Go Back   Cable Forum > Virgin Media Services > Virgin Media Internet Service

Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?
Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old 25-11-2017, 16:08   #106
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 568
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Newcastle now has 3x 64 QAM upstreams

Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
3 24400000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
2 31000000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
1 37600000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement
Old 25-11-2017, 16:31   #107
vm_tech
cf.addict
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 288
vm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of lightvm_tech is a glorious beacon of light
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Newcastle now has 3x 64 QAM upstreams

Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
3 24400000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
2 31000000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
1 37600000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
There would have had 3 all along, just only bonded with 2. It's also done on a node by node basis, so the whole of Newcastle may not necessarily see the same. The frequencies you are using look like you're on a 42mhz network, so those 3 will be your lot for now, until all the street plant is upgraded. Which shouldn't be too far away to be fair.
vm_tech is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 25-11-2017, 16:38   #108
Synthetic
cf.geek
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newcastle
Posts: 568
Synthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really niceSynthetic is just really nice
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Sounds good, so I should see 4 once the plant is upgraded?

Not had any issues either way, just nice to see upgrades are being done to keep it that way!
Synthetic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 26-11-2017, 14:14   #109
Jon22
cf.addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Newport, Shropshire
Posts: 295
Jon22 is on a distinguished roadJon22 is on a distinguished road
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jon22 View Post
Sort of related to the thread, been having issues with rises in the average latency at peak times and even during the daytime sometimes. Had a thread running on the VM forum about it. http://community.virginmedia.com/t5/...n/td-p/3562884

Apparently it's down to an increase in upstream traffic but not enough to break the threshold for escalation.





Anything latency sensitive is not great when these rises occur (gaming etc.) Seeing as they don't want to do anything about it, I'm having a FTTC connection installed. It'll be slower on the download side but hopefully more consistent latency wise.
Further to this, would bonding of 3-4 upstreams sort out the increase in latency thatís affecting my connection? Might cancel having a FTTC connection if it would but got no idea when this upstream bonding would happen.
Jon22 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 16-12-2017, 11:41   #110
dragon
cf.mega poster
 
dragon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 3,889
dragon has reached the bronze age
dragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze agedragon has reached the bronze age
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Synthetic View Post
Newcastle now has 3x 64 QAM upstreams

Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
3 24400000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
2 31000000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
1 37600000 ATDMA 45.5 64 qam 6400000 5120

Mine recently went from 2 QAM16 to 3 QAM64 along with an upgrade from 12DS to 24DS channels.

Still can't order anything faster than 200M but at least they let me keep gamer when I moved
__________________
'It's not a bug its a feature'
dragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2017, 00:24   #111
rssfed23
cf.member
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Posts: 8
rssfed23 is an unknown quantity at this point
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

4 here down in one of the RFoG/FTTP Lightning areas (Oakley, Hampshire)

Channel ID Frequency(Hz) Mode Power
(dBmV) Modulation Channel Bandwidth(Hz) Symbol Rate (ksps)
6 39400000 ATDMA 35.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
8 25800000 ATDMA 35.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
7 32600000 ATDMA 35.5 64 qam 6400000 5120
5 46200000 ATDMA 35.5 64 qam 6400000 5120

Always been on 24 down 4 up since installed. On the 300Mbit service with 20 up (oddly I started on 200 and was mysteriously upgraded without contact or asking for it about a month ago up from 200. I tried to buy 300 at launch but it wasn't available).

Fortunate to still be one of a small number on a bunch of new line cards put into the Reading CMTS while the rest of the village waits out their existing contracts and subscribes so not experienced much in the way of contention since it was installed but I'm sure that'll change (every neighbour I've spoken to knows VM is here and plans on ordering as soon as they can).

Also of interest along with the unexpected upgrade is that it now seems I can order a phone line as well. Being RFoG I assume this will be over their voip lines.
Anyone know if this works okay with the SH3 in modem mode? I don't plan on ordering a voip line from VM but it's good to know it's available for general purchase if I ever change my mind!

Last edited by rssfed23; 18-12-2017 at 00:45.
rssfed23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 18-12-2017, 10:37   #112
Stop It
Evil, Likes Cats.
 
Stop It's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Biggleswade
Age: 33
Services: VM Vivid 200 VM XL TV & Sky Sports VM Phone
Posts: 895
Stop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of societyStop It is a pillar of society
Re: Upstream channel bonding: Any plans to bond more than 2?

Mine went from.2 upstream to 4, all 64 QAM this weekend along with a doubling from 12 to 24 downstream channels.
Stop It is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 19:12.


Server: xenon.zmnt.net
Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.11
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions Inc.